Research projects

Ongoing projects

Systemic visualization of contents of teaching with the method of systemic constellations

Exploratory teaching is an important prerequisite for the development of competencies of students. This applies already to the beginning phase of academic studies. For this purpose, teaching and learning methods are needed which facilitate the comprehension of complex issues and systems dynamics and which also encourage students to develop and reflect their very own value system.
For this, the focus is shifted from didactics of instruction to didactics of enabling. The learning process is designed as an open searching and comprehension space in groups which makes innovative ways of learning, like experiential learning, possible. The method that applies best to most of these requirements is the method of systemic constellations.

More information in German »

Virtual Academy for Sustainability

The aim of the UN Decade of Education for Sustainable Development is to provide students of all universities with a learning opportunity for sustainability. The “Virtual Academy for Sustainability” supports the UN Decade by providing web-based courses that can be taken by students of all universities in Germany to acquire credit points.

More information in German »

Research projects

Completed Projects

Preservation of resources through sustainability cooperations

The cooperative securing of the availability of resources may hold potential for companies that has not yet been discovered. For this reason, in this research project the options for sustainability cooperation are examined that shall eventually lead to practical recommendations.

More information in German »

Sustainability and Fairness: Basics and School-Practical Implications

An interdisciplinary group of researchers developed a study for all who contribute to the configuration and implementation of education for a sustainable and fair development as decision-makers, as a part of the scientific or as a practitioner. More information in German »

Development of a concept for CSR-Consulting

In cooperation with the RKW Bremen a project to plan a CSR consultancy process was started at the end of 2010. Companies of different industries and different sizes as well as consulting firms came together in several workshops to formulate a CSR check, to try it out and to develop it further after having made initial experiences. More information in German »

Improving the quality of teaching at the Faculty of Business Studies and Economics

With a broad set of measures a lasting and effective improvement of the quality of teaching and study at the Faculty of Business Studies and Economics at the University of Bremen has been achieved. The measurement of the actions is based on the average nationwide indicators for studies in economics and business management, i.e. an attrition rate below 40%, an average study period of less than 10 semesters and a graduation rate higher than 3.5 per academic staff member. More information in German »

Sustainable resource management in the textile industry

The potential future economic, social and ecological resource-burnout of the German textile industry was the reason for this research project. The economic rationality of sustainability was for the first time worked out to a concrete concept for sustainable resource management in a certain industry. The project was funded by the Research Commission of Social Sciences and Humanities of the University of Bremen. More information in German »

EcoStep – transfer and distribution of the Integrated Small Business Management System

The process-oriented integrated small business management system for up to 50 employees (SME) developed under the environmental alliance of Hesse shall be introduced to the commercial/ industrial and agricultural sector (wine) on a broad basis in different countries. Four European regions were involved in the project: for Germany the regions of Hesse and Bremen, Aquitaine in France and in Italy the Emigla Romana.

More information in German »

CRC 637: Autonomous Logistics Processes – a Change in Paradigm and Constraints

Autonomous logistics processes are closely related to modern management. It is about a planned organizational change of high complexity. To implement a change like this successfully, the mental barriers of the actors involved have to be considered, as well as the logical and factual limits of self-control at the management and ICT level. More information in German »

Sustainability under observation – An innovative concept for municipal monitoring

A lot is being written about the development of sustainability indicators. Indicators show a sustainable state whose contents will paradoxically emerge only in long-lasting social discussion processes. This is how the dilemma which the actors of indicator research find themselves in can be described in short. More information in German »

Forschungsprojekte

Laufende Projekte

Virtuelle Akademie Hochschulbildung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung

Ziel der UN-Dekade Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung ist es, Studierenden aller Hochschulen ein Bildungsangebot zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die Virtuelle Akademie Nachhaltigkeit unterstützt die UN-Dekade, indem sie online-gestützte Lehrveranstaltungen anbietet, die Studierende aller Hochschulen in Deutschland belegen und dabei Kreditpunkte erwerben können. mehr »

Projekt Hoch N: Arbeitspakete Lehre und Vernetzung

Das Projekt Hoch N ist ein bundesweites Projekt, welches im Verbund mit insgesamt 11 Hochschulen im Dezember 2016 gestartet ist.

Hoch N widmet sich der Verankerung von Prozessen der Entwicklung, Implementierung und Etablierung von Nachhaltigkeit an deutschen Hochschulen. Das Vorhaben verbindet praktische und wissenschaftliche Ansprüche und verfolgt als übergeordnetes Ziel, Expertenwissen und Prozesskompetenzen zum Thema zu bündeln, aufzubereiten sowie weiter auszubauen, um dadurch nachhaltige Entwicklung an Hochschulen zu fördern. mehr »

Forschungsprojekte

Abgeschlossene Projekte

Systemisches Visualisieren von Lehrinhalten durch Aufstellung

Forschendes Lernen ist bereits in der Studieneingangsphase eine wichtige Voraussetzung zur Kompetenzentwicklung von Studierenden. Hierfür werden Lehr- und Lernmethoden benötigt, die das Erfassen komplexer Sachverhalte und Systemdynamiken ermöglichen, das Entwickeln und Reflektieren des eigenen Wertesystems fördern, statt auf einer Belehrungsdidaktik auf einer Ermöglichungsdidaktik basieren, Lernen als offenen Such- und Verständigungsraum in Gruppen gestalten und innovative Lernformate wie Erfahrungslernen ermöglichen. mehr »

Betriebliche Ressourcensicherung durch Nachhaltigkeitskooperationen

Die kooperative Sicherung der Ressourcenverfügbarkeit kann für Unternehmen Potenziale bergen, die bislang noch nicht entdeckt wurden. Aus diesem Grund wird in dem Forschungsprojekt untersucht, welche Möglichkeiten für unternehmerische Nachhaltigkeitskooperationen denkbar sind und wie diese für die Praxis umsetzbar gemacht werden können. mehr »

Nachhaltigkeit und Gerechtigkeit: Grundlagen und Schulpraktische Implikationen

Eine interdisziplinär besetzte Forschergruppe erarbeitete eine Studie, die sich an alle richtet, die als Entscheidungsträger/innen, als Teil der wissenschaftlich beratenden Infrastruktur oder als "Praktiker/innen vor Ort" für die Gestaltung und Umsetzung der Bildung für eine nachhaltige und gerechte Entwicklung Verantwortung tragen. mehr »

Entwicklung einer Beratungskonzeption für eine CSR-Beratung

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem RKW Bremen wurde Ende 2010 ein Projekt gestartet, einen CSR-Beratungsprozess zu planen. Unternehmen verschiedener Branchen und Größenordnungen wie auch unterschiedliche Beratungsunternehmen trafen sich in mehreren Workshops, um einen  CSR-Check mitzugestalten, ihn auszuprobieren und durch die ersten Erfahrungen weiterzuentwickeln. mehr »

Verbesserung der Qualität der Lehre im Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaft

Mit einem breiten Maßnahmenpaket wurde eine dauerhafte und wirksame Verbesserung der Lehr- und Studienqualität am Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaft der Universität Bremen erzielt.

Die Messung der Maßnahmen erfolgt anhand der bundesdurchschnittlichen Kennziffern für ein wirtschaftswissenschaftliches Studium, d.h. Schwundquote unter 40%, durchschnittliche Studiendauer kürzer als 10 Semester und die Absolventenquote pro wissenschaftliches Personal liegt höher als 3,5 gemessen werden. mehr »

Nachhaltiges Ressourcenmanagement in der Textilwirtschaft

Der sich ankündigende ökonomische, soziale und ökologische Ressourcen-Burnout der deutschen Textilwirtschaft ist Anlass für das neue Forschungsprojekt. Die ökonomische Rationalität der Nachhaltigkeit wird in diesem Projekt erstmals zu einer konkreten Konzeption eines nachhaltigen Ressourcenmanagements einer Branche ausgearbeitet. Das Projekt wird gefördert von Bereichsforschungskommission Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften der Universität Bremen. mehr »

EcoStep – Transfer und Verbreitung des Integrierten Kleinbetriebsmanagementsystem

Das im Rahmen der Umweltallianz Hessen für Unternehmen bis 50 Mitarbeiter (KMU) entwickelte prozessorientierte Integrierte Kleinbetriebsmanagementsystem soll auf breiter Basis im gewerblich/industriellen und im landwirtschaftlichen Bereich (Weinbau) in verschiedenen Ländern eingeführt werden. Vier europäische Regionen sind an dem Projekt beteiligt: in Deutschland sind es die Regionen Hessen und Bremen, in Frankreich Aquitaine und in Italien die Emigla Romana. mehr »

SFB 637: Selbststeuerung logistischer Prozesse – Ein Paradigmenwechsel und seine Grenzen

hat viele Bezüge zum modernen Management. Es handelt sich um einen geplanten organisatorischen Wandel von hoher Komplexität. Um diesen Wandel erfolgreich durchzuführen, müssen sowohl die mentalen Barrieren der beteiligten Akteure berücksichtigt werden wie auch die logischen und faktischen Grenzen der Selbststeuerung auf Management- und IuK-Ebene. mehr »

Nachhaltigkeit unter Beobachtung – Ein innovatives Monitoringkonzept für Kommunen

Es wird sehr viel über die Entwicklung von Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren geschrieben. Indikatoren sollen einen nachhaltigen Zustand anzeigen, dessen Inhalt sich aber paradoxerweise erst in langen gesellschaftlichen Diskussionsprozessen herauskristallisieren wird. So lässt sich das Dilemma zusammenfassen, in dem die Akteure der Indikatorenforschung sich befinden. mehr »